Farewell lights

“Kindly fasten your seat belts. We are ready for take off.” As I tucked myself in place, I gazed out of the window. The window seat has always been my favorite. This time I was unable to get one while booking but then during boarding I was informed that there was a change in my seating. And yes! I was granted my favourite spot! Now was that a coincidence?! Absolutely not.  There is no such thing as coincidence. It’s all well planned by my Father in Heaven. 

As the flight started its ascent,brilliant lights sketched out  Bahrain against the dark sky. My home for a while was nothing but a collection of lights. I could still make out some familiar landmarks. The  moving fleets of vehicles on roads took the form of tiny red or white ants. And as I soared higher, the lights started dwindling in number. Soon as the dark night sky swallowed the last flicker, I was left with nothing but an empty window. I kept staring at it like a television that got turned off during a good show due to a power cut! But I was happy. I sang a hymn of praise in my head. I was leaving with memories brighter than those lights. No matter how much I ascend in life, I will not forget those moments of love, laughter and rest. And ofcourse, the people who gifted me with those memories.In a few hours time, new lights will greet me. They will not be the same. Yet they will enchant me with promises of a new beginning. Until then, I fly this vast night sky on the wings of hope.

Author:

Nothing but a recipient of Christ's grace. I am a young doctor and I use this space to find meaning in the bedlam of my thoughts. My blog might resonate with the screams of a young adult finding her place in life, the stench of hospital corridors, images of the many people who intrigue me and the lessons my Saviour Jesus teaches me.

Leave a comment